Kiss Me, I’m Irish











{November 22, 2008}   Stolen from TenseTeacher

(My Original Blog Post: http://tm2ts.sarahsmidnightfantasy.com/2008/11/22/stolen-from-tenseteacher/)
1. Which do you like better: Cooking at your house, or going elsewhere?
I prefer cooking at home, just for the fact that I know my appliances. After almost 4 years, I’ve learned their nuances, even better than my parents or Josh’s

2. Do you buy a fresh or frozen bird?
Neither. Mark buys it, but he buys frozen πŸ™‚

3. What kind of stuffing?
Um, stuff from a bag? I have no idea. Like I said, Mark does that, :lol:.

4. Sweet potato or pumpkin pie?
Sweet potato pie? Never heard of it.
Pumpkin pie? *gag*
I make Hoosier Pie πŸ˜›

5. Do you believe that turkey leftovers are a curse, or the point of the whole thing?
Leftovers mean money saved, so they is awesome!!

6. Which side dish would provoke a riot if it was left off the menu?
Um, I don’t think any would. Though they might lose it this year since my sweet potato recipe doesn’t call for marshmallows, πŸ˜†

7. Do you save the carcass to make soup or stock?
Used to, but not now

8. What do you wish you had that would make preparing Thanksgiving dinner easier?
More than one crockpot, :lol:.

9. Do you get up at the crack of dawn to have dinner ready in the early afternoon, or do you eat at your normal dinner hour?
My father-in-law does, but not me. I’m a lazy gus. I will be starting early on the peeling of sweet potatoes. Yes, that’s right. FRESH sweet potatoes πŸ™‚

10. If you go to somebody else’s house, what’s your favorite dish to bring?
Hoosier pie and/or fudge. Both go over quite well, :lol:.

11. What do you wish one of your guests wouldn’t bring to your house?
No coming to my house πŸ˜‰ but when we do do it at our house, I want smiles, and no bitching, and no attempting to kick me off of my TV.

12. Does your usual mix of guests result in drama, or is it a group you’re happy to see?
Usually one I’m happy to see. Might be some drama since I will be bringing my laptop and my phone. We’ll see the reaction when I’m the one handling the video camera, too, :lol:.

13. What’s your absolute favorite thing on the menu?
DARK MEAT on the turkey, and since I’m about the only one who likes it, I get plenty, :lol:.

14. What are you thankful for this year?
My husband having a job. I might bitch about the hours being cut, but in the end, it works out, and I am very thankful that he has one in the long run.
My daughter is doing great in school and absolutely loves it.
My son is a happy, excitable 3-year-old who drives me insane but is also so sweet and awesome.

15. Share one family tradition –
Food, food, food

How many Thanksgivings do you attend?
One

Where do you attend Thanksgiving(s)?
Holton

Do you have turkey, ham, or both?
Turkey. We get both at Christmas

Name your fave thing about Thanksgiving.
Being with family, honestly πŸ™‚

Do you use brown gravy or turkey gravy?
Brown gravy made from turkey drippings <– this!!

Do you help clean up after Thanksgiving?
Yes, I do. I was “in charge” of dishes when we lived there, so I have no problem doing them. I was also the only one who “visited” after Kathy passed away that didn’t get an evil look. πŸ™‚

What is your least favorite dish at Thanksgiving?
Cranberries *gag*

Out of everything you eat at Thanksgiving, what can YOU cook the best?
My pie, I think, but that’s because no one else does, XD. I’m also *teh* awesome on mashed taters

Do you kill your own turkey?
Um, no. I am not Sarah Palin holding a press conference

What do you drink with your Thanksgiving feast?
Water or soda. Maybe milk or eggnog πŸ™‚

Has there ever been a feud during your Thanksgiving?
No, I don’t think so. Will be at my folks if my brother shows up

What kind of veggies do you have with Thanksgiving?
Green beans, sweet potatoes

Do you have appetizers before you Thanksgiving meal?
Depends, I think, πŸ™‚

How many people attend your Thanksgiving(s)?
Hmm, Mark, Jesse, Jamie, Madi, Ethan, Me, Josh, Seth and Megan if they come, so between 7 and 9. Small, yes πŸ™‚

Have you ever missed a Thanksgiving?
Nope

Do you eat Thanksgiving leftovers?
Who doesn’t?

What kind of pie/cake/dessert do you eat for dessert?
Oreo Cookie pie or Hoosier Pie

Do you ever play games at Thanksgiving?
No

What time do you eat Thanksgiving?
When it’s done

Is there anyone who has normally attended Thanksgiving, that will not be there this year? Who?
I have no idea

Which person eats the MOST?
The guys, πŸ˜›

Which person eats the LEAST?
The kids, πŸ˜†

Shortly describe what the women typically do on Thanksgiving.
stay out of the way (seriously)

Shortly describe what the men typically do on Thanksgiving.
cook, watch football

Do any animals attend Thanksgiving dinner?
Yes, Molly and Suzie have an integral part of the festivities. They’re the vacuums, :lol:.

If so, do they get Thanksgiving scraps?
Like I said, vacuums

Who carves the turkey?
Mark

Have you ever had to make Thanksgiving all on YOUR OWN?
Nope

Do you get along with the people you have Thanksgiving with?
Most of the time πŸ™‚

Baked turkey or fried turkey?
Roasted, basically πŸ™‚

Do you eat gizzards?
No – those are the puppies

Do you like whipped cream on your pumpkin pie?
I no eat pumpkin pie, but Mark does request it for his Christmas gift, πŸ˜†

Is your Thanksgiving formal, or do you just do whatever?
Whatever you want to do. Might convince Josh to take the Wii this year πŸ˜‰

Is your Christmas tree set up before or after Thanksgiving?
After.

On a scale of 1-10, how much do you LOVE Thanksgiving?
7

et cetera
